Since 1983 the Center for Addiction Research & Education has worked to further addiction science at the University of Florida.  We are delighted to welcome our new leadership: Director Sara Jo Nixon, Ph.D. and Associate Director Joanna Peris, Ph.D..  The Executive Committee is comprised of the Director, Associate Director, Executive Committee Chair Marieta Heaton, Ph.D., Robert Leeman, Ph.D., Barry Setlow, Ph.D., Jeff Boissoneault, Ph.D.. These members were selected to represent the diversity of addiction science fields and disciplines at the University of Florida.  Additionally, we have established an Internal Advisory Committee (IAC) and External Advisory Committee (EAC) – information about these and other committees is available on our Committees Page.

Nixon, Director


Sara Jo Nixon, Ph.D. (Profile)
Department of Psychiatry
College of Medicine

Joanna Peris

Associate Director

Joanna Peris, Ph.D. (Profile)
Department of Pharmacodynamics
College of Pharmacy


UF CARE is Supported by:


The McKnight Brain Institute


The Senior Vice President for Health Affairs

60th Psychiatry

The Department of Psychiatry


The Department of Pharmacodynamics

Our Individual Donors